Destiny 2 Season 18 Release Time Guide: Showcase, Downtime

Everything to know about the Destiny 2 Season 18 release date, maintenance, and showcase times.

The Destiny 2 Season 18 release date is just around the corner, and there are some interesting changes and additions to dig into already. While Lightfall is still on the far horizon, The Witch Queen still has a ton of tricks up its sleeve, and a new season is forthcoming to keep on expanding storylines and season passes while shortening our vault inventory spaces. This guide explains what to expect in terms of Season 18 release date for Destiny 2, including the maintenance schedule, how and when to watch the showcase that is going to precede the launch, and more.

Destiny 2 Season 18 Release Times – When Does the New Destiny 2 Season Start?

Season 18 of Destiny 2, which is yet to be officially named such as it happened with Season of the Haunted, releases on Tuesday, August 23. The exact time varies depending on your timezone, but you can expect a simultaneous launch worldwide as per usual.

The Season 18 release times for Destiny 2 are as follows:

  • 10 a.m. PT
  • 1 p.m. ET
  • 6 p.m. BST
  • 7 p.m. CEST

Destiny 2 Season 18 Maintenance Time – When is Destiny 2 Coming Back Online?

In terms of maintenance times for the Season 18 launch, we know the exact details. For this update, only Destiny 2 is undergoing a scheduled downtime from 9 a.m. PT/11 a.m. PT . Here’s the full timetable:

  • 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET — maintenance kicks off for Destiny 2
  • 9:45 a.m. PT/12:45 p.m. ET — the game is brought offline
  • 10 a.m. PT/1:00 p.m. ET — Destiny 2 is brought back online, and update 6.2.0 is going to become playable on all platforms and regions
  • 11 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET — maintenance completes

Destiny 2 Season 18 Reveal Trailer – When Does the Season 18 Trailer Goes Live?

UPDATE: The Destiny 2 Season of Plunder trailer is live:

Once more Bungie is being pretty quite about the new season, as well as the future of Destiny 2 as a whole. But don’t fret, as there’ll be a showcase happening on August 23 at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET, which happens to match the maintenance schedule. You can tune in via YouTube and Twitch. If you opt for the latter, there’ll be Twitch Drops enabled for the first time, so you can grab yourself a freebie while you watch the showcase.

What to Expect From Destiny 2 Season 18

While we still don’t know much about the upcoming season before the showcase, Bungie has already teased a raid launch (which is being revealed in the showcase), Iron Banner, Trials of Osiris, and Grandmaster Nightfalls returning, as well as Festival of the Lost in mid October.

If you’re looking for more help, we have guides covering how to unlock the Solar 3.0 fragments and grenades, how to get the new Jotunn catalyst, how to farm Vestiges of Dread and Opulent Umbral Energy, all Exotics, new weapon Patternsseasonal mods, and Season of the Haunted triumphs. In addition, we’re covering all patch notesbugs and top issuesBound in Sorrow quest steps, and Calus Bobbleheads. We’ve covered how to get Opulent KeysBound Presence in Containment, Crown of Sorrow H.E.L.M. upgradesIron Banner Seal Triumphs, and the Trespasser Catalyst. And lastly, we’ve written on how to find a Loyalist Commander for Battles Lines Triumph and the Cek’ik Boss.