Destiny 2 Aspects Guide – How to Unlock The First Stasis Aspect

Destiny 2: Beyond Light is finally here after months and months of waiting. Acting as the next major chapter in this FPS/RPG hybrid, players will embark on a journey to Europa to battle against a Fallen leader called Eramis and learn more about the true nature of the Darkness. This expansion includes new characters, missions, endgame activities, weapons, exotics, and enemy types. Of course, the biggest draw is Stasis, a new subclass that allows our Guardian to wield ice the Darkness. Billed as the most customizable class in Destiny 2, players will need to work to even unlock this subclass let alone the various Aspects and Fragments tied to them. Currently, only one Aspect is available for each subclass, so here’s how to unlock it.

How to Unlock the First Aspect

The first thing you’ll need to do is complete Beyond Light’s campaign. This will take between 4-6 hours depending on your skill and Power level. Once you’ve completed it and obtained Stasis, speak to the Exo Stranger to earn the Born in Darkness quest. This is actually a three-part quest, but you only need to do the first section for now. Completing Part 2 and Part 3 will unlock additional Stasis grenade types. Speak to the Exo Stranger again to earn the Aspect of Control quest.

Still with me? Okay, now forget about this quest and go visit the Drifter in the Tower. He will have an Exotic quest for you to complete. This is made up of multiple steps, most of which are fairly painless, and you get to enjoy a really funny story mission at the end. We also have a full guide on that quest if you’re stuck or what to plan ahead. After beating the Drifter’s side quest you will obtain Salvation’s Grip, which is a Stasis grenade launcher that crystallizes enemies. The longer you charge the gun, the more crystals you will form, allowing you to freeze enemies even if you don’t have a Stasis subclass equipped.

With that out of the way, return to Europa and begin seeking out the five Entropic Shards. Surprise, we have a guide on their locations too! But to save you some trouble, here are the locations of the five you need to destroy. The screenshots correspond with the text below, not above!

Asterion Abyss Shard

Asterion Abyss Lost Sector Shard

Cadmus Ridge Shard

Rhiis-Reborn Approach Shard

Technocrat’s Iron Shard

Once you’ve demolished all five shards, your final task is to commune with a shard of Darkness and wipe out several waves of increasingly more difficult enemies. There will be several mini-bosses standing in your way, as well as an Overload Champion. If you haven’t unlocked or equipped any Overload mods, use Stasis to freeze it in place so it cannot teleport or regenerate health. After defeating every enemy, interact with the shard one last time to complete the quest and unlock your first Aspect. You can now go into your subclass menu and equip it to enhance your Guardian’s killing potential.

Currently, only one Aspect appears to be available. My best guess is these will be released weekly so people don’t just unlock everything within a week.


Collin MacGregor

Collin MacGregor is the Guide Staff Writer at Fanbyte. He's also the person who willingly plays the support class (you're welcome) and continues to hold out for an Ape Escape remake.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.