Welcome to the new beta.  Found a bug or issue? Report it here.

Destiny 2 Season of Dawn Calendar Guide - Roadmap, Exotic Quest Dates

The debut season for Destiny 2: Shadowkeep may be at an end, but Bungie is back with its first followup. The Season of Dawn kicks off on December 10 with a new 6-player matchmade activity, new exotic quests, seasonal artifact, and more. It’s gonna be a busy winter for Guardians everywhere. Buckle up! Or don’t and channel Saint-14 instead by headbutting all of your enemies instead.

Bungie just released a calendar outlining all these exciting new events and when they’re scheduled to start, so keep the following in mind while planning weddings or vacations in the near future:

More Destiny 2:

destiny 2 season of dawn calendar

When does the Destiny 2 Season of Dawn Start?

Season of Dawn kicks off on December 10. It isn’t until the next week that things really start evolving. On December 17 some obelisks will pop up on Nessus and EDZ. These are available to all players. Season Pass owners will also get a new Sundial boss in Ozletc, the Sky Piercer. This is also when the mission to save Saint-14 will begin.

Then what?

After that, a (mostly) weekly trickle of new content carries the Tower through December and into February.

  • December 10:
    • The Sundial PVE Mode
      • Niruul, The Hollow Voice Boss
    • Lantern of Osiris Seasonal Artifact
    • Solar Subclass Update
    • Elimination PVP Mode
    • Rusted Lands PVP Map
    • Tangled Shore and Mars Obelisks
  • December 17:
    • Nessus and EDZ Obelisks
    • The Sundial: Ozletc, The Sky Piercer
    • Save A Legend
  • December 17 – January 14:
    • The Dawning
  • December 24:
    • Iron Banner
    • The Sundial: Tazaroc, The Sun Eater
  • January 7:
    • Legend Sundial
    • Exotic Quest: Devil’s Ruin
  • January 28:
    • Exotic Quest: Bastion
  • February 4:
    • Empyrean Foundation
    • The Sundial: Inotam, Oblivion’s Triune
  • February 11 – February 18:
    • Crimson Days

Let it be known that the new Sundial bosses, Saint-14 quest, Legend Sundial, and the exotic quests Devil’s Ruin and Bastion all require the Season Pass. The Nessus and EDZ obelisks, The Dawning, Iron Banner, and Crimson Days events are available to all Destiny 2 players alongside whatever Empyrean Foundation is, regardless of how their ticket is stamped.

When the season launches on December 10, everything is available to all players except The Sundial which remains exclusive. That means everyone gets to experience the Solar Subclass update, the new Elimination PVP mode, the Rusted Lands Crucible map, and the obelisks on Tangled Shore and Mars. We really have no clue what these obelisks entail, but we’ll update you as soon as we have details.

What Season comes after Season of Dawn?

We don’t know yet! But we do know that there will be two seasons after Season of Dawn, which Bungie has previously classified as the Spring and Summer seasons. (We’re sure they’ll get fancy lore names as they’re each announced in the coming year.) Each season will come with its own Premium Pass, which grants access to new activities, new exotic gear, and new Universal Ornament cosmetic goodies for people that want to buy in. Basically, expect to see more of what you saw this season.

About the Author

Dillon Skiffington

Dillon is the Senior Game Guides Editor at Fanbyte. He's been writing about video games for 15 years and has thousands of hours logged in FFXIV and hundreds of hours in Destiny 2.