Welcome to the new beta.  Found a bug or issue? Report it here.

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Rift Guide: Season 17 Schedule & Daily Bounties

Disjunctive news.

Season 17 of Destiny 2 is just around the corner, somehow, which means that developer Bungie has started sharing more details about what’s to come. Iron Banner in particular seems to be the target of more than just a few tweaks. But don’t fret, we have all the details here, from the inclusion of Destiny 2 Iron Banner Rift to the season 17 schedule and changes to bounties.

If you’re looking for additional help, we have guides covering how to earn Medallions and Laurels, how to unlock The Title SMG as well as its god roll, the steps to get yourself the Unauthorized Departure exotic ship, how strike scoring works, and what is up with the Shoot to Score quest and Medallion Torch rewards.

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Season 17 Schedule – Season of the Haunted Release Dates

During Season 17 of Destiny 2, Iron Banner is only running twice, and you won’t be seeing it during annual festivities.

For Season 17, these are the Iron Banner release dates in Destiny 2:

  • Week 2 starts on May 31
  • Week 8 starts on July 12

Proper details are yet to come, of course, but if you’re curious about Rift or the new Iron Banner additions, start making some time around those dates.

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Reputation Boosts List – Season of the Haunted

As you’re diving into the new Reputation feature, here are the ways in which using Iron Banner gear, emblem, and other factors come into play to get different boosts:

  • Iron Banner gear or ornaments give a multiplier of 200% for all five pieces
  • Iron Banner daily challenge gives 100% to the modifier for the week (this applies to each challenge)
  • Iron Banner emblem adds 10% on top

Keep these values in mind before Iron Banner kicks off!

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Schedule Haunted 1

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Rift Details – Yes, Rift is Back

Let’s kick off with probably the biggest news for all of you who were into this game mode back in The Taken King expansion. The objective-based Crucible mode Rift is going to become available during the two weeks of Iron Banner in Season 17. As for the future, Rift will be available as a rotator in the main Crucible playlists in Season 18.

If you’ve played Pyre before, there is a similarity between the two. The goal is to take the Spark from the center of the map and survive long enough to dunk it on the enemy’s rift. There are different points depending on your actions, as well as set rules in place.

As explained in May 12’s TWAB, you can find the full summary of how Rift is going to work in Destiny 2 below:

  • A Spark appears in the center of the map a few seconds after a match starts or a point is scored and can be picked up by interacting with it for a couple seconds. The Spark itself is a buff that allows full weapon and ability usage aside from Super.
  • For the first five seconds after picking up the Spark, or for a few seconds after taking damage, both teams receive a waypoint for the Spark holder. After that, the waypoint only remains for the Spark holder’s own team—marking the Spark holder for your teammates is important.
  • If you die while carrying the Spark, it drops to the ground where you died (or nearby if the spot is not navigable).
  • If you hold onto the Spark too long, it detonates.
  • Team resurrections are enabled in Rift, so make sure to help your teammates in the middle of a push, or if you are playing defense.
  • There are no points for kills, just for Spark dunks, so playing the objective is key.
  • When Rift is in Iron Banner, the Hunt is on when your team has the Spark. When the music intensifies, it’s time to score.

There are also different ways to extend matches past the time limit:

  • Continuation: At end of regulation time, If the current Spark holder could change the outcome of the match — either the game is tied, or if the current Spark holder is down one point — the match continues until the current Spark holder drops the Spark or scores.
  • Sudden Death Multispark: If there is a tie once time is up, the game enters a 90-second overtime where three sparks spawn in midfield.
  • After the sudden-death timer is up, Sparks stop dropping on death, and any Sparks on the ground are removed. As soon as the last Spark is eliminated without a score, the match ends in a tie.

That’s the gist! Now, let’s see how the schedule is looking for Iron Banner.

In Destiny 2 Season 17, Power Level is Getting Disabled For Iron Banner, and Tokens Are no More

So, yeah. Power level will be disabled in Iron Banner starting Season 17 (although it’s remaining active in Trials of Osiris as the PVP endgame mode). Also, the Iron Banner tokens will be removed in Season 17 as well, bound to be replaced by a similar ranking system likened to Saint-14 and Shaxx.

As you rank up, you’ll be able to earn Iron Engrams to unlock cosmetic rewards and materials. That being said, you can also convert Iron Engrams into any current Iron Banner weapons or armor set that have been earned previously, for a cost with in-game materials. Bungie says that they’re looking to add “legacy Iron Banner gear and cosmetics” in future seasons.

Here is a quick summary of the new Destiny 2 Iron Banner ranking system:

  • Play matches with each match earning more towards Iron Banner reputation.
  • Win matches to earn a small bonus based on your current Iron Banner rank.
  • Wear Iron Banner armor (or just as ornaments on your own non-Iron Banner gear) and equip Iron Banner weapons to max out your gear multiplier at 200%.
  • Five total pieces must be equipped, though please remember this includes Iron Banner armor and Iron Banner ornaments.
  • Complete the daily Iron Banner challenges to tack on 100% to your challenge multiplier for the rest of the week.
  • Yes, this means for each challenge.
  • Use an Iron Banner emblem for an additional 10% emblem multiplier.

The modifiers will be listed on the launch screen, and Bungie has provided a couple examples:

If you were feeling like Iron Banner had grown stale over time, well, expect quite a bit to learn and catch up in the next few weeks.

Iron Banner is Getting Daily Challenges in Season 17

Starting in Destiny 2 Season 17, players will unlock a new daily challenge during the first four days of each Iron Banner week. Even if you don’t complete said challenge on the given day, you’ll unlock the challenges for all subsequent days as they arrive. That way you can log in on Friday and get all of them done in one go, for example.

Bungie says that rewards also stack reputation bonuses for the remainder of the Iron Banner week alongside a Pinnacle Iron Engram. As for the weekly bounties that typically award Pinnacles, well, they have been “deprecated appropriately to balance out this change,” says the developer.

There’s a New Destiny 2 Iron Banner Map, Too, Called Disjunction

Disjunction is a new Destiny 2 map debuting in Season 17, which is going to be available on day one for Iron Banner and all 6v6, 3v3, and Free for All modes in Crucible.

Destiny 2 Iron Banner Rift 5

According to Bungie, Disjunction is a “symmetric map with a base on either end, three lanes with plenty of crossovers, and large backfields,” set in Savathun’s Throne World. While it’s one of the largest maps in Crucible yet, there are different arenas that are made for different styles, focusing on short, mid, and long-range encounters.

That’s everything you need to know about the Destiny 2 Iron Banner Rift news and beyond. Better start practicing ahead of time, and also, don’t forget to catch up on pending Season 16 tasks.

About the Author

Diego Arguello

Featured contributor at Fanbyte focusing primarily on guides. Always procrastinating on Twitter.