Legends of Runeterra Ranks Guide – LP, Tiers, and Divisions Explained

So you’ve put together your Legends of Runeterra deck and tested it out in some normal matches. Ranked mode seems scary though. How does it work? What are the ranks? How will I progress? Can I lose progress? All of these are really good questions. League of Legends players may already be familiar with the Runeterra ranks, but for new players, our Legends of Runeterra Ranks Guide will tell you what to expect.

More Legends of Runeterra:

Legends of Runeterra Ranks System

The Legends of Runeterra ranked system works in a very similar manner to League of Legends. There are seven tiers: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, and Master. Each one has four different divisions, counting down. That means Iron IV is a lower rank than Iron III. Hit Iron I and advance another division and you’ll be promoted to Bronze IV.

To be clear here is every rank from lowest to highest:

  • Iron IV
  • Iron III
  • Iron II
  • Iron I
  • Bronze IV
  • Bronze III
  • Bronze II
  • Bronze I
  • Silver IV
  • Silver III
  • Silver II
  • Silver I
  • Gold IV
  • Gold III
  • Gold II
  • Gold I
  • Platinum IV
  • Platinum III
  • Platinum II
  • Platinum I
  • Diamond IV
  • Diamond III
  • Diamond II
  • Diamond I
  • Master

Your rank within these divisions is tracked via LP. As you win and lose matches you’ll gain and lose LP. At any given time your LP is a number from 1 to 100 with the number gained or lost varying from tier to tier. At lower ranks it’s easier to progress than at higher ones. You also get a win-streak bonus as long as you’re below Gold 4, making it easier to achieve those often desired ranks. This amounts to 10 additional LP per win starting with your third win in a row.

The good news is that every time you advance a division you start off at 10 LP, giving you a small barrier to instant demotion. If you lose a game while at 0 LP, you get demoted. If you have exactly 1 LP, you’re safe from demotion for that one match even if you lose. The one exception is the barrier between tiers. If you’re Gold, for example, you can not be demoted back to Silver. Enjoy the new comfort!

Masters tier does function a bit differently than the rest of the ranked system. Since this is where the best of the best players are located, the ranks within the tier are ranked by their Matchmaking Rating (MMR) from highest to lowest. This lets Riot get a bit more granular and helps display the true rank rather than an approximation that’s entirely binary from winning or losing.

Looking for more things Legends of Runeterra doesn’t tell you? We’ve written up a tips guide highlighting some important things to know! Another big area that’s lacking is the Weekly Vault system. Here are all of the ranks, rewards, and upgrade chances. And finally, if you need a deck to run, check out our Legends of Runeterra Best Decks guide which explains the February 2020 meta.


Dillon Skiffington

Dillon is the Guides Editor at Fanbyte. He can't seem to quit games as a service or looter shooters — unfortunate news for his backlog, really. Can't get enough game art, soundtracks, or space games. You can find him on Twitter @Squiblon.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.