Danganronpa’s Getting a Belated 10th Anniversary Celebration in November

The event will be in person in Japan, streamed elsewhere.

Danganronpa’s tenth anniversary was last year, but given the state of the world during the coronavirus pandemic, developer Spike Chunsoft wasn’t able to hold some events it had planned in celebration. However, the company is taking a second shot at an in-person event in Japan, and should it still take place in light of the delta variant of the virus, it will be streamable to overseas fans as well.

The event, as described on Spike Chunsoft’s website, will include some kind of performance, with a cast, streaming options, and ticket sales to be announced at a later date. Those in Japan who want to attend in person will be able to do so on November 27, with both an afternoon and an evening performance planned. The event itself will run about an hour and a half long. The schedule as laid out is as follows, but keep in mind these times are in Japan Standard Time. So if you’re planning on watching from America, these shows will be pretty late at night for you.

The daytime performance will begin at 3 p.m. JST (2 a.m. Eastern/11 p.m. Pacific), with the evening performance to follow at 6:30 p.m. JST (5:30 a.m. Eastern/2:30 a.m. Pacific).

You may also like:

While in-person events were a no-go, Spike Chunsoft did put two of the Danganronpa games onto mobile devices last year for the series’ 10th anniversary. Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony has yet to make its way to phones and tablets, however, and was indefinitely delayed earlier this year. More recently, the company announced all three of the series’ murder mystery visual novels would be coming to Switch as Danganronpa Decadence, which also includes a new, non-canonical spin-off called Danganronpa S: Ultimate Summer Camp.

All these developments are well and good, but as of this writing, the Danganronpa games have yet to be restored to the PlayStation Vita digital store. This is a huge shame because that’s where the series began its life in western territories.

Tags

Kenneth Shepard

Kenneth is a Staff Writer at Fanbyte. He still periodically cries about the Mass Effect trilogy years after it concluded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.