Kena: Bridge of Spirits Karma Guide – How to Get Karma to Buy Upgrades

Kena: Bridge of Spirits is a third-person action-adventure game developed by Ember Lab. Available on PS4, PS5, and PC (Epic Games Store), Kena: Bridge of Spirits is set in a gorgeous world filled with all types of fascinating characters. You play Kena, a third-generation spirit guide who is tasked with helping restless souls move on into the afterlife. Unfortunately, Kena’s home is being ravaged by overwhelming corruption and it’s up to her to fight back this darkness. Just like other games in this genre, Kena can learn a number of additional abilities that will make her more dangerous in combat. However, to purchase these upgrades you’ll need to earn Karama which is one of two in-game currencies. Below is a breakdown of how to obtain it and what upgrades I recommend getting first.

How to Get Karma

Karma is perhaps the most important currency in the entire game, as it allows you to purchase new combat and Rot abilities. Thankfully, you can earn Karma a number of different ways including:

  • Defeating enemies
  • Clearing corrupted flowers
  • Restoring corrupted parts of the world
  • Solving puzzles
  • Repositioning Owl/Cat Statues

The most common methods for earning Karma are by clearing corrupted flowers, restoring parts of the forest, and solving the various puzzles in the world. While the former is something you will need to do to progress the majority of Kena’s story, it’s actually pretty easy to overlook the owl and cat statues. Scattered throughout Kena’s world, you will come across this reoccurring puzzle where you need to use the Rot to either reposition or pull up various stone figures. These are typically extremely easy to solve since the statues are rarely far from the spot they need to go. Just run up to one, press Square to make the Rot grab the statue, and ping where you want the little critters to take it.

You’ll also get a decent amount of Karma from just playing through the game itself, regardless if you seek out other puzzles. Kena throws a lot of enemies and corrupted flowers at you, many of which will give you more than enough to purchase a lot of upgrades.

Which Upgrades to Get First

Now that you have some Karma, you’ll want to know which upgrades you should actually purchase. I strongly recommend upgrading your shield skills first. Enemies do a surprising amount of damage on normal difficulty, so having an extra layer of protection can really come in handy. Both the Parry Counter and Shield Health+ are terrific options — especially early on when you haven’t had a chance to increase your maximum health. Just remember, you won’t be able to obtain Shield Health+ until you reach Rot Level 2.

Another good investment is the Focus upgrade, which slows down time for a short period when Kena aims with her bow. The glowing orange weak points on enemies deal a ton of damage if destroyed, but can be difficult to hit. Focus trivializes this, allowing you to swiftly bring down tougher foes with only a few arrows. As for the Melee skill tree, I actually didn’t find a lot of practical uses for Kena’s sprint attack. It’s fine, but the amount of Karma spent definitely isn’t worth it early on into the game.


Collin MacGregor

Collin MacGregor is the Guide Staff Writer at Fanbyte. He's also the person who willingly plays the support class (you're welcome) and continues to hold out for an Ape Escape remake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.