Halo: Reach MCC Ranking System Guide – The Ranking System Explained

First released in 2010 for the Xbox 360, Halo: Reach has landed on Xbox One and PC as part one of the Master Chief Collection. It’s a series-spanning anthology that will eventually include every core entry through Halo 4Reach tells the story of Noble Team during the weeks preceding the original Halo. Throughout the course of the story, you’ll discover the ultimate fate of the human colony of Reach, and the team that delivered Cortana to Master Chief. The big takeaway here is that Star Wars: Rogue One is a direct ripoff of Halo: Reach.

halo reach ring

How to Rank Up in Halo: Reach

One of the major selling points of Halo: Reach is the multiplayer. All of the classic modes are here, including Fireightwhich is a horde mode that made its debut in Halo 3: ODSTReach also includes a ranking system that funnels all XP gained during multiplayer into level-based progression. In total, there are 30 ranks to aim for in Halo: Reach. The fastest way to earn XP is to play multiplayer. Firefight mode does offer some XP, but the other more traditional multiplayer modes are the quickest way to farm it.

There appear to be three major factors that affect how much XP you’ll gain in any given match:

  • Performance
  • Teamwork
  • Completing a match

Considering this, it seems that the SWAT multiplayer mode is the most effective way of farming XP. Matches of SWAT are short—12 minutes maximum—and tick all the boxes when it comes to the above criteria.

Halo: Reach Ranks

Below is a full list of all the ranks included in this new version of Halo: Reach. In addition to these 30 ranks, there are 11 tiers. They represent the player reaching the maximum rank, with is repeatable. Hit the General rank once and you’ll cross over into tier 10. Do it a second time and you’ll enter tier 9, and so on. Each new tier offers a fancy new emblem for your player icon, letting other players know not to mess with you. Or, depending on your tier, that you’re ripe for the picking. In either case, here are the 30 ranks in Halo: Reach.

  1. Rookie
  2. Recruit
  3. Private
  4. Private Second Class
  5. Private First Class
  6. Lance Corporal
  7. Corporal
  8. Sergeant
  9. Sergeant Second Class
  10. Sergeant First Class
  11. Staff Sergeant
  12. Gunnery Sergeant
  13. Master Sergeant
  14. Sergeant Major
  15. Command Sergeant Major
  16. Warrant Officer
  17. Warrant Officer Third Class
  18. Warrant Officer Second Class
  19. Warrant Officer First Class
  20. Chief Warrant Officer
  21. Second Lieutenant
  22. First Lieutenant
  23. Captain
  24. Major
  25. Lieutenant Colonel
  26. Colonel
  27. Brigadier General
  28. Major General
  29. Lieutenant General
  30. General

In order to rank up in Halo: Reach, you’ll need to participate in Firefight and other multiplayer modes. Playing rewards you with XP, which goes toward your overall rank.

In addition, going up a level will also reward you with season points. These are a sort of special currency that you can use to unlock various cosmetic items in Halo: Reach, such as new bits of armor, nameplate customization, and more. The rarer stuff requires more season points, obviously, which should provide extra incentive to keep making your way through the ranking system.

And that’s the rank system in the Master Chief Collection version of Halo: Reach explained! What level are you aiming for? Let us know in the comments section!


Sam Desatoff

Fueled by too much coffee, Sam is a freelance writer with bylines at GameDaily, IGN, PC Gamer and more. Get in touch with him on Twitter (@sdesatoff) or email him at sdesatoff@gmail.com.

Related Articles