Destiny 2: Shadowkeep Season of the Undying Calendar Guide

Find out what happens when, and what you'll need to buy to enjoy it.

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep is barely two weeks away, and with it comes a major overhaul of the game’s armor systems, as well as new strikes, an entire dang moon to explore, and the introduction of Destiny 2‘s free-to-play version, New Light. But almost immediately afterwards, Season of the Undying kicks off with a new raid, new weapon quests, a new dungeon, a new PVP mode and more, so it’s gonna be a busy fall for Guardians everywhere.

Bungie just released a calendar outlining all these exciting new events and when they’re scheduled to start, so keep the following in mind while planning weddings or vacations in the near future:

When does Destiny 2’s Season of the Undying Start?

Season of the Undying kicks off four days after the launch of Destiny 2: Shadowkeep on Saturday, October 5. This first update introduces Shadowkeep‘s first raid, “Garden of Salvation,” as well as the start of the ongoing “Vex Offensive” event, which lasts until the season ends sometime in December. Garden of Salvation will only be available to those who own Shadowkeep, while the Vex Offensive is open to anyone with Season of the Undying’s Premium Pass, which comes with Shadowkeep and is also available à la carte for players of New Light.

Then what?

After that, a (mostly) weekly trickle of new content carries the Tower through October and into November:

  • October 8:
    • “Hero”Difficulty Nightmare Hunts
  • October 15:
    • “Legend” Difficulty Nightmare Hunts
    • Iron Banner
  • October 22:
    • “Master” Difficulty Nightmare Hunts
    • Exotic Weapon Quest: Leviathan’s Breath
  • October 29:
    • Festival of the Lost Begins
    • Shadowkeep Dungeon Launch
    • New “Momentum Control” PVP Mode
    • Exotic Weapon Quest: Xenophage
  • November 5:
    • First Shadowkeep Raid Challenge
  • November 19:
    • Vex Offensive: Final Assault
    • Festival of the Lost Ends

Let it be known that Nightmare Hunts, the as-of-yet unnamed dungeon, the Xenophage exotic machine gun quest, and Garden of Salvation’s first raid challenge all require Shadowkeep to ride, whereas the Leviathan’s Breath exotic bow quest and all the Vex Offensive stuff needs a Season of the Undying Premium Pass. Iron Banner, Momentum Control, and Festival of the Lost will be available to all Destiny 2 players, regardless of how their ticket is stamped.

This calendar is Bungie’s first mention of Master-level Nightmare Hunts, which are a new moon-based fireteam activity in Shadowkeep. While Bungie has yet to fully confirm, scuttlebutt says that Nightmare Hunts will send fireteams after raid and strike bosses from the first Destiny, which have been resurrected on the moon as terrifying revenants. Previously discussed difficulty levels included Adept, Hero, and Legend, so it’s unclear if Hero and Legend have been moved down a peg with Master as the new hardest mode, or if Master is a fourth, even-more-dang-hard Nightmare Hunt difficulty level above the previously announced three.

What Season comes after Season of the Undying?

We don’t know yet! But we do know that there will be three seasons after Season of the Undying, which Bungie has previously classified as Winter, Spring, and Summer seasons. (We’re sure they’ll get fancy lore names as they’re each announced in the coming year.) Each season will come with its own Premium Pass, which grants access to new activities, new exotic gear, and new Universal Ornament cosmetic goodies for people that want to buy in.