Bravely Default 2 Black Mage Job Guide – Abilities, Proficiencies, & More

Final Fantasy spells a'hoy!

Bravely Default 2 is here and that means it’s once again time to try and familiarize yourself with the plentiful Job options. If you’ve played Final Fantasy 14 or other Square Enix games, you’re likely used to this definition of Jobs, but those who aren’t might be a bit confused. In this guide, we’ll quickly explain jobs and sub-jobs before diving into the specifics of the Black Mage Job in Bravely Default 2.

What’s a Job and a Sub-Job?

A Job is your character’s main class. It’s what determines your stats, which equipment you’re proficient with, and what skills you have access to. A sub-job is essentially you’re secondary class. The difference is you only gain access to it skills. The stats and weapon proficiencies it comes with do not carry over.

Because of this it’s possible to make a Vanguard which has the healing abilities of a White Mage or a Monk which also has some of the highly damaging abilities of a Black Mage.

Black Mage Information

The Black Mage is the most basic magical damage dealer class of Bravely Default 2. Its abilities are incredibly straightforward, unlocking more powerful damaging spells as it levels up.

Specialty #1: Regenerative Default – Defaulting restores a little MP. The amount restored depends on the user’s level.

Specialty #2: ??? – Unlocked at Job Level 12.

Special Ability: Iceberg Blast – Strike all enemies with a powerful water-imbued magical attack.

  • Bonus Effects:
    • Magical Defense +30%
  • Conditions:
    • Use Black Magic x 13

Black Mage Weapon Proficiencies

The Black Mage is fantastic with a good staff though it can also wield daggers pretty well. Shields are an average option, but everything else is below proficient.

  • Swords: D
  • Daggers: B
  • Axes: E
  • Polearms: D
  • Bows: D
  • Staves: S
  • Shields: C

Black Mage Abilities

The Black Mage Job can earn the following abilities as it levels up. Each of the early levels gives it access to new elements which is useful when you know an enemy’s weakness. The latter levels unlock more powerful versions and the passives help keep the mage topped up on MP.

Keep in mind that you can toggle between targeting a single enemy and all enemies for many of these spells. It doesn’t appear to cost more MP to do so.

  1. Fire (15 MP) – Perform a fire magic attack on a target/all targets.
  2. Blizzard (15 MP) – Perform a water magic attack on a target/all targets.
  3. Thunder (15 MP) – Perform a lightning magic attack on a target/all targets.
  4. Poison (18 MP) – Attempt to poison a target.
  5. Lunar-Powered (1 Cost) – During the night, magical attack, evasion, and luck are increased, and 4% of MP is restored each turn.
  6. Fira (38 MP) – Perform a powerful fire magic attack on a target/all targets.
  7. Blizzara (38 MP) – Perform a powerful water magic attack on a target/all targets.
  8. Thundara (38 MP) – Perform a powerful lightning magic attack on a target/all targets.
  9. Aspir Attack (1 Cost) – Restores an amount of MP based on damage inflicted with the Attack command.
  10. Firaga (66 MP) – Perform an extremely powerful fire magic attack on a target/all targets.

That’s it for now! We’re still working our way through Bravely Default 2 and plan on adding more information to our guides as we go along. Make sure to check back later to see what we’ve added!


Dillon Skiffington

Dillon is the Guides Editor at Fanbyte. He can't seem to quit games as a service or looter shooters — unfortunate news for his backlog, really. Can't get enough game art, soundtracks, or space games. You can find him on Twitter @Squiblon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.