Stray Release Time Guide: Pre-load, Download Size for PC, PS5

Here are the Stray release times across PC and PlayStation, as well as the download size.

The Stray release time seemed like a distant thing to pursue, but with the launch just around the corner, it’s finally time to dive into details like this. The new game from BlueTwelve Studio and Annapurna Interactive has you playing as a cat throughout a cybercity with tons of robots and all sorts of peculiar characters and fiends. This guide explains the release times so you know when to get your hands on the game, whether or not there’s a pre-load available, and the download size for both PC and PlayStation.

Stray Release Times on PC, PS4, PS5 – When Does Stray Come Out?

Stray releases on Tuesday, July 19, so you don’t have to wait until Friday to get your hands on it. If you’re wondering about the exact times across platforms, you can find them below:

Stray Release times on PC

  • PST: 9 a.m.
  • EST: 12 p.m.
  • BST: 5 p.m.
  • CEST: 6 p.m.

Stray Release times on PlayStation (PS4, PS5)

  • PST: 8 a.m.
  • EST: 11 a.m.
  • BST: 4 p.m.
  • CEST: 5 p.m.

In summary, if you’re playing the game on console, you’re going to be a few hours ahead of time compared to the PC release. In case you’re willing to get up at 4 a.m. on a Tuesday, that is. In addition, remember that you can access the game on launch if you’re part of the PlayStation Plus Extra or Premium plans, which is neat.

Stray Download Sizes on PC, PS4, PS5 – Is There Pre-load for Stray?

First of all, let’s address the cat in the room: No, Stray doesn’t have a pre-load option. This may sound like a bummer to many for a myriad of ISP reasons, but at the very least, the game won’t be a juggernaut in terms of download size.

Speaking of which, you can expect around 10 GB for the PC version, which isn’t bad at all. Then, the download sizes for PS4 and PS5 are around 13 GB and 7.5 GB, respectively. All in all it’s a similar size for all three platforms, so hopefully it won’t take too long even if your internet connection isn’t great. And at least on Steam, download sizes tend to be compressed, so it may be a bit less than 10 GB.

If you’re wondering whether or not your PC can run Stray, and how well, you can find the requirements below:

Minimum Specs

  • OS: 64-bit Windows 10
  • CPU: Intel Core i5-2300 or AMD FX-6350
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • CPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti, 2 GB or AMD Radeon R7 360, 2 GB
  • DirectX: Version 12
  • Available Storage: 10GB

You May Also Like:

Recommended Specs

  • OS: 64-bit Windows 10
  • CPU: Intel Core i5-8400 or AMD Ryzen 5 2600
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • CPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780, 3 GB or AMD Radeon R9 290X, 4 GB
  • DirectX: Version 12
  • Available Storage: 10GB

That is everything you need to know about the Stray release time ahead of launch!